The Mindful Way through Depression: Freeing Yourself from Chronic Unhappiness


SKU: 9781593851286 Categories: , , ,

The Mindful Way through Depression draws on the collective wisdom of four internationally renowned mindfulness experts, including bestselling author Jon Kabat-Zinn, to provide effective relief from the most prevalent psychological disorder.

This authoritative, easy-to-use self-help program is based on methods clinically proven to reduce the recurrence of depression. Revealing the hidden psychological mechanisms that cause chronic unhappiness, the authors gently guide readers through a series of exercises designed to break the mental habits that lead to despair. Kabat-Zinn lends his calm, familiar voice to the accompanying CD of guided meditations, making this a complete package for anyone looking to discover a lasting sense of inner peace.

Through insightful lessons drawn from both Eastern meditative traditions and cognitive therapy, they demonstrate how to sidestep the mental habits that lead to despair, including rumination and self-blame, so you can face life’s challenges with greater resilience.


  • Introduction: Tired of Feeling So Bad for So Long
  • I. Mind, Body, and Emotion
  • 1. “Oh, No, Here I Go Again”: Why Unhappiness Won’t Let Go
  • 2. The Healing Power of Awareness: Making a Shift to Freedom
  • II. Moment by Moment
  • 3. Cultivating Mindfulness: A First Taste
  • 4. The Breath: Gateway to Awareness
  • 5. A Different Kind of Knowing: Sidestepping the Ruminative Mind
  • III. Transforming Unhappiness
  • 6. Reconnecting with Our Feelings—Those We Like, Those We Don’t Like, and Those We Don’t Know We Have
  • 7. Befriending our Feelings
  • 8. Seeing Thoughts as Creations of the Mind
  • 9. Mindfulness in Everyday Life: Taking a Breathing Space
  • IV. Reclaiming Your Life
  • 10. From Being Unhappy to Being Fully Alive
  • 11. The Mindfulness Program and Your Life: Bringing It All Together
  • Resources and Further Reading

 Audio CD:

Guided Meditation Practices for The Mindful Way through Depression (Running Time 77:25, Narrated by Jon Kabat-Zinn)

 Audio CD Tracks:

  • 1. Introduction (3:01)
  • 2. Body Scan (29:02)
  • 3. Mindful Standing Yoga (10:58)
  • 4. Mindfulness of the Breath (10:38)
  • 5. Mindfulness of the Breath and Body (9:24)
  • 6. Mindfulness of Sounds and Thoughts (10:34)
  • 7. The Breathing Space (3:48)

Total Running Time: 77:25